“To set the mind on the Spirit is life and peace.”*

I had a busy week that flew by and then a quiet weekend filled with my usual musings and meanderings.

I read the second lesson  on Sunday–one of Paul’s attempts at logically explaining the unexplainable in Romans 8. How I do love him. The associate rector praised my reading as I left the sanctuary after the service and when I demurred, he clasped my hand and said, “Oh, no, no. You are a superstar! When you read you give the words meaning…” I blush to remember. But I must say  I was pleased. No one else calls me a superstar!

On the way out I caught up with a man who I have been trying to get in touch with and asked him if he would take part in a course we are offering this fall at our flyover institute. He is the former head of a global architectural firm based in our flyover city. He said yes. I was on a roll!

I decided to go back to an estate sale I had gone to on Saturday to see if a few things were still there. They were not, but I bought three art books for a dollar each. Score.

On the flora and fauna front, my hibiscus, which I planted from seeds (harvested from a friend’s garden) last year, has bloomed!

hibiscus buds

hibiscus blooms

bee

See the bee hard at work in there?

It really is the little things that make us happy, right? Someone saying “good job!” or someone saying “Yes!” or a flower blooming.

I hope this week is full of more positive reinforcement. We musn’t forget to hand out those positive vibes when we are in a position to do so. Say “Yes!” at least once this week.

“Keep your face always toward the sunshine – and shadows will fall behind you.”

–Walt Whitman