At your command all things came to be: the vast expanse of interstellar space, galaxies, suns, the planets in their courses…*

by chuckofish

During Epiphany at my church we are using Eucharistic Prayer C, which is the one that includes all that jazz about “from the primal elements you brought forth the human race”, not to mention this fragile earth, “our island home.” One wonders if most of our clergy even believe this anymore. Well, I do and so I don’t really mind all this post-modern verbage, although it sounds like something Dr. McCoy would say and not Dr. Cranmer. C’est la vie.

It is appropriate to pray thusly, moreover, having just viewed Gravity, a movie with absolutely no spiritual dimension to it. It is all about science and apparently was not written by Episcopalians**.

gravity-poster

I like Sandra Bullock, but she is not believable as a medical doctor on a space station. What is a medical doctor doing walking in space and making technical changes to a space station anyway? It is difficult to imagine Sandra passing her basic training. Of course, none of the men hyperventilate when things go wrong. But when things go badly, she does not know what to do. Being a modern woman, she never even prays. She explains at one point that no one ever “taught her.” Oh please. You know what they say about no atheists in foxholes. There is no one to help her, but luckily an imaginary man comes to her aid and tells her what to do. Thank goodness.

There is a bit of backstory explaining that she is sad because her young daughter has died back on earth and we suppose this is why she is on a space station in the first place. She has no one on earth to keep her there. Why then she tries so hard to get back, I don’t know. Once I had managed to get back to the space station after the initial separation, I would, I think, be happy to make it my comfortable coffin and go to sleep. Especially if I had no one back on earth.

This movie made no sense to me. It was crazily implausible. Please. Why did I watch it?

Meanwhile back at church, I am still getting used to my new pew. The handicapped-accessible space which has displaced several of us caused my friend Mike and me once again to chuckle good-heartedly at our surroundings. Another man suggested Mike try the “other side” and he replied fervently, “Oh, good God, no!” He went on to say that this was the “Republican side” anyway, which really made me chuckle. As if there are enough Republicans in my church to make a “side”! I had never heard that one. He said that was what his father-in-law had always said.

The Olympics are over and I can’t say I care. Too many professionals and not enough American team spirit. I like the American ice dancing pair, the ones that looked like Owen Wilson and a Disney princess. They were exceptional. I enjoyed seeing Bode Miller ski again and win a bronze. I loved watching the Norwegian biathletes masochistically ski for miles at top speed and stop and shoot.

biathlon

What a great sport!

In other news, I worked in the yard on Saturday as the temperatures soared into the sixties. It was positively warm. I filled up three bags of leaves. (An outward and visible sign of an inward and spiritual grace.)

IMGP0929

And the Christmas Amaryllis from my brother’s family continues to put on quite a show.

IMGP0930

It is getting cold again, but as we head into March, these over-the-top flowers seem to herald the coming of spring, don’t you think? Have a great week!

*BCP, p. 369

** Alfonso and Jonas Cuaron