Some art for Wednesday: “Look at nature, work independently, and solve your own problems.”*

by chuckofish

Monday was the birthday of Winslow Homer (February 24, 1836 – September 29, 1910) whom readers of this blog know has always been one of my favorite artists. Like me, he came from a long line of New Englanders and so the landscapes he painted are both familiar and dear to me. Our mother was also a great admirer of Homer and we were introduced to his art at an early and impressionable age. What is not to like?

Here are a few of my favorites.

This poster hung on my dorm room wall in college. It can be seen on the bottom of this blog.

A print of this painting hung on my dorm room wall in college. It can be seen on the bottom of this blog.

My kind of guy

My kind of guy

The West Wind

The West Wind

Two Guides

Two Guides

This painting hangs in the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute in Williamstown, MA and I stared at it a lot in college.

This painting hangs in the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute in Williamstown, MA and I stared at it a lot in college.

Breezing Up

Breezing Up

Prisoners From the Front--I always loved this picture.

Prisoners From the Front–I always loved this picture.

I think they were going for that same look in this movie. (By the way, this is a terrible movie, but the stars did look great.)

Richard Harris and Charlton Heston in "Major Dundee" (1965)

Richard Harris and Charlton Heston in “Major Dundee” (1965)

A Visit From the Old Mistress, which mirrors the composition of the Prisoners From the Front painting

A Visit From the Old Mistress, which mirrors the composition of the Prisoners From the Front painting

For more pictures, here is a good slideshow from the National Gallery of Art.

homergallery_credits

* Good advice for artists (and others) from Winslow Homer