My baloney has a first name–it’s O-S-C-A-R

by chuckofish

oscars-2014-ellen-poster__140108193621-575x851

For the first time in probably close to 50 years, I am contemplating not watching the Academy Awards on Sunday night. Daughter #1 says I should at least watch the opening with Ellen Degeneres.

Maybe. I mean I get that it is on her network and I want to be supportive, but I am now officially in that grumpy demographic. Old.

Remember when it was a big deal to see who presented the awards? It might be your only chance to see Clint Eastwood or Steve McQueen or Audrey Hepburn or Paul Newman. But I don’t care about any of the actors and actresses nowadays. Remember when it was a big deal to see what Cher wore?  Now it is more about what everyone wears than anything else.

And there is no mystery. Everyone is over-exposed these days. And there are no surprises. We all know who is going to win.

Well, boo-hoo, time marches on.

I will be marching too–away from the TV.

Anyway, I thought I would share a clip from the good old days (1972) when Ben Johnson won the Best Supporting Actor Award. (Please note Richard Harris’ reaction when Ben wins.)

Ben was 53 years old when he won the award for The Last Picture Show. He was pretty cute all dressed up in a tuxedo. The story goes that Ben did not want the part, so Peter Bogdonavich, the director, asked John Ford to talk to him. He was finally convinced. He does more talking in his one big scene (a monologue) than in most of his previous movies combined. He was the real deal and a working actor right up to the time he died.