March comes in like a rockety ride

by chuckofish

A new month has commenced! March, the weather forecasters predicted, would come in like a lion.

From "Katy and the Big Snow" by Virginia Lee Burton

From “Katy and the Big Snow” by Virginia Lee Burton

They sure had everyone in a tizzy of expectation. Church was even called off yesterday! (The rector is in the holy land–is this what happens when the cat’s away?) In fact, most churches in the area canceled all services because of the expected 10″ of snow/sleet. Unheard of in the “olden” days! Can’t say that I wasn’t pleased to be able to stay in bed and read Olivier and Parrot by Peter Carey.

books

I also finished The Sweet-Shop Owner by Graham Swift, which was well-written and held my interest, but I can’t say I recommend it unless you are in the mood for a depressing story about post-WWII England.

But back to the weather and our snow-pocalypse that didn’t happen.

In fact, not much happened.

hoiuse4

But Spring will be here before we know it! You know this is true.

Here’s evidence:

mikemathenymeme

P.S. I did not watch the Oscars. I watched Serenity (2005) which was nominated for no Academy Awards (although 8 years later Chiwetel Ejiofor was nominated for Best Actor in 12 Years a Slave). However, it is a favorite of mine. I am a leaf on the wind…