(Ladies and) Gentlemen, start your engines!

by chuckofish

A few weeks ago I picked up a couple of CDs at an estate sale. (Yes, I still listen to CDs!) I should have gotten a lot more at this particular sale, but I just couldn’t stand there picking through them.

CDs

Anyway, the other morning I was listening to some of these oldies but goodies. The William Tell Overture, written in 1829 by Gioachino Rossini, was the one that really stood out for me. I mean you’ve heard it a million times–it’s a total cliche for Pete’s sake–but, boy, is it good! Try to erase the Lone Ranger from your mind. Forget about  all those cartoon characters waking up at daybreak in the pastorale section of the piece.

Imagine instead this dual personality speeding down the road, hitting all the lights on my way to work. Amazing. I recommend listening to the whole thing, but here’s the finale:

Well, I guess it is time to reacquaint myself with the classical music I grew up listening to.

What music do you listen to in order to get your motor revving in the morning?