Like most things, I am nothing*

by chuckofish

Well, the highlight of my weekend was going estate sale-ing with the boy and having a diner breakfast with him.

wrc

I didn’t find anything at the sale except a book (big surprise), but it was lots of fun nevertheless. We talked about movies we had watched recently. I told him I had just seen Trader Horn (1931)–the infamous movie filmed on location in Africa where two crew members were killed (by a crocodile and a charging rhino) and the leading lady contracted a dread disease which ended her career.

Trader_Horn_(1931_film)_poster

I think it was the first movie my mother went to see as a child. Her parents had read that there were lots of animals in it and so they took little 6 year-old Mary and her 8 year-old sister Susanne to see it. I think it scarred my mother for life! It is pretty scary–lots of animals to be sure, but they are frequently seen eating each other! Also the natives are pretty scary too. Anyway, I had never seen it and I enjoyed it quite a bit. Considering it was made 83 years ago, it holds up rather well and looks pretty good. They hadn’t even had sound in movies for that long.

The boy told me that he had recently re-watched Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000). I thought that sounded like a great idea and so I watched it that night.

Crouching-Tiger-Hidden-Dragon-Poster

It is one of the few movies I saw at the movies with my OM that I then took my children to see a few days later. (Another one was Life is Beautiful.)

It is a sensational movie. It is beautiful, exciting, romantic, and spiritual–and includes some of the best choreographed fighting ever filmed. How many movies can you say that about?

Crouching_Tiger_Hidden_Dragon_4129_Medium

As I sat in church on Sunday, it occurred to me that I had not gotten very far with my Lenten movie watching, so I determined to do better this week.

After church I did a lot of work in the yard and spring-cleaned the Florida room–my back is aching today! Well, onward and upward to spring!

What did you do this weekend?

* Li Mu Bai (Chow Yun Fat)) in Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon