“Today’s temperature’s gonna rise up over 100 degrees, so there’s a Jheri curl alert! That’s right, Jheri curl alert.”*

by chuckofish

It is worth living long enough to outlast whatever sense of grievance you may acquire. Another reason why you must be careful of your health.

(Marilynne Robinson, Gilead)

Summer has never been my favorite season. In our flyover state it is HOT and growing up we did not have air conditioning. Yes, you read that correctly.

I was one of those weird kids who actually liked school. And as we did not belong to a country club and I was not sent away to camp, I was bored a lot during the summer. I did not have a friend in the neighborhood. So I read a lot. I watched way too much TV. I went to the grocery store with my mother. A big day was when we went to the movies. Sometimes friends of my parents would give us their box seat tickets to the baseball game. You get the picture. It was a long three months.

Anyway, I have come to appreciate the summer and its slower pace. It helps that we live in an air-conditioned house now. That makes a big difference.

I enjoy all the goings on in my yard. From the day lilies

IMGP1060

to the pumpkins

IMGP1064

to the critters.

I did not take this photo of a mini-bear, but they are everywhere.

I did not take this photo of a mini-bear, but they are everywhere.  There’s a whole chipmunk village underneath our yard.

I appreciate the longer days. For instance yesterday, the boy came by my office at the end of the day and together we trekked down to the new auction house which has replaced the one that was so conveniently located across the street from my office for many years. (Much to my chagrin, some shady dealings forced this 150-plus-year old business to close.) The new auction house has set up in an old church designed by one of our city’s most famous architects and we went down to check out the preview of the inaugural auction which will be this Saturday.

linkauctiongallery-exterior

It was great to do that and get home before dark! Summer has its upside.

I tried to think of a good summer movie for my Friday movie pick, but nothing really came to mind. Jaws (1975)? The Parent Trap (1964)? Dirty Dancing (1987)? American Graffiti (1973)? Gotta say, I’m just not in the mood.

Any ideas?

* Do The Right Thing (1989)