“Take yourself by the scruff of the neck and shake off your incarnate laziness.”

by chuckofish

Today is the birthday of Oswald Chambers (24 July 1874 – 15 November 1917), an early 20th century Scottish Baptist and Holiness Movement teacher and evangelist.

oswald-pic

You can read about him here. He is most famous today as the author of My Utmost for His Highest (1924), a daily devotional composed of 365 selections of Chamber’s talks, each of about 500 words. The work has never been out of print and has been translated into 39 languages. The book was published after Oswald’s death in 1917, his wife Gertrude Hobbs compiling the passages from her shorthand notes.

I have had my own copy of this wonderful book for many years. It is dog-eared and much highlighted. If you do not have a copy, I recommend you get one.

“The teaching of the Sermon on the Mount is not–Do your duty, but–Do what is not your duty. It is not your duty to go the second mile, to turn the other cheek, but Jesus says if we are His disciples we shall always do these things. There will be no spirit of–“Oh, well, I cannot do any more, I have been so misrepresented and misunderstood”. . . Never look for right in the other man, but never cease to be right yourself. We are always looking for justice; the teaching of the Sermon on the Mount is–Never look for justice, but never cease to live it.”

There is a good reason that this book has never been out of print! There is also a daily online devotional.

“Get into the habit of saying, ‘Speak, Lord,’ and life will become a romance.”

Bonus tidbit: Since we celebrated the 45th anniversary of the Apollo 11 Moon Landing in 1969 earlier this week, I thought I would share this story with you. Do you know that Buzz Aldrin, an elder in his Presbyterian Church in Texas, brought communion on the space flight and  celebrated it with Neil Armstrong on the moon? He did. Here is the full text of the original article — written by Buzz Aldrin — published inGuideposts magazine in October of 1970.

So I unstowed the elements in their flight packets.  I put them and the scripture reading on the little table in front of the abort guidance system computer.

Then I called back to Houston.

“Houston, this is Eagle.  This is the LM Pilot speaking.  I would like to request a few moments of silence.  I would like to invite each person listening in, wherever and whomever he may be, to contemplate for a moment the events of the past few hours and to invite each person listening to give thanks in his own individual way.”

Amazing. Read the whole thing.