Tout va bien

by chuckofish

So look at this:Screen shot 2014-07-23 at 7.38.25 PMJ. Crew put my mantra on a t-shirt. Once again I am hipper than I supposed.

And guess what? It’s Friday!

I am, as usual, looking forward to my weekend. I have no glamorous plans beyond finishing this book

CuckoosCallingCover

which is not bad–Robert Galbraith, aka J.K. Rowling, knows her characters and the dialogue is quite good. The action moves right along. A couple of people at work recommended it and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

I will also continue to scrape wallpaper glue off the walls of an upstairs bathroom.

Don’t worry–I won’t be home all weekend. I  plan to go to an Evensong service where the boy’s childhood friend (and Best Man) is preaching. The RSCM (Royal School of Church Music) choir camp will perform. All my children attended this  camp at some point, the boy for the longest duration. He even went to one in North Carolina. Anyway, that should be fun, if not super-fun.

The weather the last few days has been unbelievably beautiful–cool and not humid–and so unusual for this neck of the woods in July. I am extremely grateful. It is the kind of weather that makes you glad to be alive.

Take a deep breath and say, “Smell the pine in your nostrils!”

Okay I’ll explain. My best friend in the third grade Nancy went on a family vacation out west and she wrote me riotously funny letters. In one she described how her mother was continually saying, “Smell the pine in your nostrils!” Somehow this vivid picture stayed with me through the years and I used to say it to my children when they were growing up. We would giggle. Perhaps they will say it to their children.

Anyway, tout va bien! Have a great weekend.