“My soul has grown deep like the rivers”*

by chuckofish

St. Louis in 1846

St. Louis in 1846

“The face of the water, in time, became a wonderful book–a book that was a dead language to the uneducated passenger, but which told its mind to me without reserve, delivering its most cherished secrets as clearly as if it uttered them with a voice. And it was not a book to be read once and thrown aside, for it had a new story to tell every day.”

– Mark Twain, Life on the Mississippi

I have lived in the city on the River nearly my whole life and I always know where I am in relation to the river. I always know or feel where it is–running north and south and I am “situated” that way. I cannot imagine not living by a river or some body of water. I wonder if other people feel this way?

*Langston Hughes