“You know what’s wrong with you, Miss Whoever-you-are? “*

by chuckofish

Today is Audrey Hepburn day on TCM. Here is the schedule. I can’t say they are showing my absolute favorites, but there are actually a few I haven’t seen. So the DVR will be doing its job today.

MBDBRAT EC032

I must say I have loved old Audrey for a long, long time–long before she was a pop culture “icon” and her face was all over everything. Our mother was a fan and loved Breakfast at Tiffany’s (1961). It really surprised me to find out that it was not a big hit when it came out in 1961 and it wasn’t nominated for many Oscars. It has “Best Picture” written all over it, if you ask me. It is definitely one of my Top Five of all time movies.

Audrey is the real deal: beautiful, smart, brunette. And she can act.

Anyway, an Audrey Hepburn movie fest seems like a terrific idea for this Friday. Which movie(s) will you pick?

John Huston's "The Unforgiven" (1960)

John Huston’s “The Unforgiven” (1960) with Burt Lancaster

William Wyler's "Roman Holiday" (1951) with Gregory Peck

William Wyler’s “Roman Holiday” (1953) with Gregory Peck

"Wait Until Dark" (1967)

“Wait Until Dark” (1967)

Billy Wilder's "Sabrina" (1954) with Bogart and Holden

Billy Wilder’s “Sabrina” (1954) with Bogart and Holden

Stanley Donen's "Charade" (1963) with Cary Grant

Stanley Donen’s “Charade” (1963) with Cary Grant

So many good/great ones to choose from!

*Paul Varjak