The days grow short when you reach September*

by chuckofish

Sigh. August is over and with it goes the summer. School starts and we begin that snowball slide to Christmas and the end of the year.

Well, I did meet some of my August goals.

I (almost) finished my rehab of an upstairs bathroom. The painting is done. It is nearly impossible to take a picture in a bathroom, but perhaps this gives you an idea. I am pleased.

2014-08-31 13.42.27

I caught up with several old pals for a few meals and conversation this month. (Once school gets underway, lunch out is impossible.)

Not much to check off the list I suppose, but  meanwhile work and home continue to run fairly smoothly. Meals are made (such as they are), sheets are changed and new rolls of toilet paper appear. Sometimes that is all we can aspire to I think.

It’s time to appreciate/enjoy the last blooms of summer before those oak leaves begin to fall in earnest. Oy.

2014-08-31 13.53.04

Enjoy your day off if you have one today! Appropriate movies to watch might be: Norma Rae, How Green Was My Valley, The Molly Maguires, Silkwood, The Grapes of Wrath, On the Waterfront.

Well, appropriate maybe, but I can’t say I’m in the mood. Any suggestions?

* “September Song” by Maxwell Anderson/Kurt Weill