For the wonder state we’ll sing a song*

by chuckofish

On Sunday Daughter #1 and I drove down to Bentonville, Arkansas

mary 66

Love those Missouri rest stops.

and visited the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art.

The museum, founded by Alice Walton and designed by Moshe Safdie, officially opened on November 11, 2011. I had heard rave reviews of it from several people so I have been anxious to go. And I like road trips–even when I am the driver.

Bentonville is, indeed, a lovely town, built around a square in the southern tradition, with a monument to Confederate Soldiers in the center.

IMGP1092

The town appears to be thriving–supported by copious amounts of Wal-Mart money–but it is a real town, not a Disney immitation. It is lushly landscaped and full of friendly locals who say hello and smile.

IMGP1090

IMGP1093

The Museum itself is impressive.

An "Official" photo of the museum at night when it looks best.

An “official” photo of the museum at night when it looks best.

Crystal-Bridges-Aerial-Featured

Another professional photo–but here the murky water cannot be hidden.

IMGP1079

My photo.

The design is “cool” but the concrete is not aging well–it never does. I am not a fan of the “brutalist” look. I mean, three years old and it looks terrible! Oh well. The inside is beautiful and full of an impressive art collection. We saw many wonderful American paintings–many famous ones that it was a thrill to see up close.

"Kindred Spirits" by Asher B. Durand

“Kindred Spirits” by Asher B. Durand

Daughter #1 and I had a marvelous time driving, talking, eating, drinking, looking at art, buying postcards, walking on the lovely nature trails. And that’s what the trip was really all about.

*”The Arkansas Traveler”