“I descend into the arena”*

by chuckofish

The corn maze at Eckert's in Millstadt, IL

The corn maze at Eckert’s in Millstadt, IL

Tonight the postseason commences for the hometown Cardinals, so like everyone else around here, we will be watching the game against the L.A. Dodgers. I hope it will not prove to be too stressful an end to a very busy week!

But whatever, at least we will get a big dose of this big guy:

sports_mike_matheny_st-louis_cardinals_dugout

I have nothing against Don Mattingly,

Don_Mattingly

the manager of the Dodgers, who actually shares a birthday with me. I mean, c’mon, he has been a guest on a classic episode of The Simpsons (Season 3, Homer at the Bat) and that is awesome.

HatB_-_Don_Mattingly

1992 Mattingly sans sideburns: “Mattingly! I thought I told you to trim those sideburns! GO HOME!!! You’re off the team, FOR GOOD!!!”

You remember this episode:

 

It is no doubt one of Don Mattingly’s proudest memories. And that’s great.

But I still like our skipper best. He is really awesome.

Mike-Matheny

*Walt Whitman