Friday movie pick

by chuckofish

The other night I tried to watch Nicholas and Alexandra (1971) on TCM, but I  didn’t make it to the end. I knew how it was going to end, and it was pretty depressing.

eng_nicholas_and_alexandra

Indeed, there was nothing uplifting in the story of the hapless Czar Nicholas II and his wife Alexandra and their downfall and ultimate murder.  I remember seeing it at the movies back when it came out. My mother thought it was great and wept through much of it, but seeing it again, I was unmoved. And I should note that the soundtrack was terrible.

The next night I watched Anastasia (1956)–the film adaption of the stage play starring Ingrid Bergman in her second Academy Award-winning role and the great Yul Brynner.

220px-Anastasia322

It was pretty great. It is the story of an opportunistic Russian businessman (Brynner) who tries to pass a mysterious woman (Bergman) off as the Grand Duchess Anastasia. However, she is so convincing in her performance that even the biggest skeptics, including the Dowager Empress herself,  believe her.

ANASTASIA

So Anastasia is my Friday movie pick. Check it out.  Although Yul’s part is not nearly big enough to suit me, it is a good movie and the soundtrack by the great Alfred Newman is terrific.

Have a great weekend!