Friday movie picks–Christmas edition

by chuckofish

It being that happy season of Christmas movie viewing, I thought I’d just remind you of my favorites. Here are my top five:

1. White Christmas (1954)

whitechristmasonesheet

Oh, I do love this movie and have blogged about it here. I just watched it last weekend for probably the 50th time. It never gets old.

2. The Bishop’s Wife (1947)

the-bishops-wife

A wonderful film with a stellar cast–and it’s about Episcopalians!

3. Miracle on 34th Street (1947)

miracleon34thstreetthreesheet

Here’s another one that never gets old. I watched it over the Thanksgiving holiday and enjoyed it anew.

4. Home Alone (1990) This one still makes me laugh out loud. Do not, however, waste your time on Home Alone 2 (1992).

MV5BMTUzMzg4MTg2M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTYwNDM4OTk4._V1_SX640_SY720_

5. 3 Godfathers (1948) This John Wayne classic is my all-time favorite Christmas movie!

3_Godfathers_1948_poster

Other favorites include Scrooge (1951),  It’s a Wonderful Life (1947), and A Christmas Story (1983).

Other movies I like a lot which can’t really be categorized as Christmas movies, but include a Christmas element are Edward Scissorhands (1990) and The World of Henry Orient (1964).

Here’s a blast from the past that is available on YouTube: A Smoky Mountain Christmas, which was first aired on TV in 1986. It stars Dolly Parton, Lee Majors and John Ritter, and, although admittedly a bit hokey, I liked it then and I still do.

Have I left out anything? I think I’ll hunker down this weekend and get in the mood. It sounds like a plan to me.