Happy birthday, dear dual personality!

by chuckofish

sarah xmas

Christmas c. 1985

I chose this photo because I thought my dual personality looks pretty*. But then I noticed how serious she looks. This girl wasn’t always so serious–even though she was a stressed-out graduate student at the time! (If I recall correctly, she wasn’t feeling well this Christmas. Soon, in fact, she would be down with pneumonia!)  Maybe she hadn’t gotten what she wanted for her birthday. Or maybe it was that whole birthday/Christmas thing.

e728d6a23457fa88d5944adc5baaead7

Perhaps her older sister was annoying her. Perhaps her darling one-year old niece was screaming in the background. Who knows?

Anyway, today is her birthday and we hope she is celebrating in style and that good food and wine and presents for pretty girls are involved.

giphy

Hopefully she is not cooking! As always I wish I could be with her!

“For there is no friend like a sister
In calm or stormy weather;
To cheer one on the tedious way,
To fetch one if one goes astray,
To lift one if one totters down,
To strengthen whilst one stands.”

–Christina Rossetti, Goblin Market

*Note that there is a shadow behind her head that makes her hair look much more bouffant than it actually was!