“I live my life a quarter mile at a time.”*

by chuckofish

IMGP1185

So here we are well into January and I haven’t written anything about the new year or January or anything like that. Tant pis. I haven’t been feeling it.

This weekend, however, I spent all day Saturday and a good part of Sunday putting away Christmas decorations and generally getting the house in order. I feel much better about Life and 2015 and all that.

IMGP1183

It is good to welcome back a few old friends who were put away for the holidays.

IMGP1182

Hello, Nigel and Errol, you handsome devils. (My mother named these guys many moons ago.)

IMGP1181

I hesitate to make any great claims for change in the new year. Change happens despite us, so I prefer to stay on course and hope for the best. The OM and I have pledged to clean up the storage area in the basement and Throw Away a lot of accumulated stuff. This seems like a worthy goal for the rest of the winter months.

Meanwhile I am back reading Middlemarch, which is really good!

middlemarch-penguin

People haven’t changed so much since 1871. I recognize quite a few in this study of provincial life.

The OM and I have also enjoyed watching the Fast and the Furious movies he received for Christmas.

81uuHFiu2ZL._SY606_I mean who can resist these two cuties?

Vin Diesel and Paul Walker

Vin Diesel and Paul Walker

So onward, I say, in 2015.

Almighty and eternal God, so draw our hearts to thee, so guide our minds, so fill our imaginations, so control our wills, that we may be wholly thine, utterly dedicated unto thee; and then use us, we pray thee, as thou wilt, and always to thy glory and the welfare of thy people; through our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ.

Amen.

–BCP

*Dom in The Fast and The Furious (2001)