WWDD

by chuckofish

d2232a382e66613d7419dcc5364bd4b7

How is it that I missed this wonderfulness?

And this:

Do you  have big plans for the weekend? My only scheduled event is an annual church dinner which raises money for the youth mission trip in June. It is billed as “The Elegant Italian Dinner,” but it is anything but that.

Last year's big event

Last year’s big event

They hang twinkly Christmas lights around Albright Hall, turn the lights down very low and serve lasagna. The youth group members wear bow ties and are the waiters. The cool dads serve as the bartenders. (This is an Episcopal Church–there is always a bar.) You get the picture. But it is always fun and the OM even goes.

I’m sure Dolly would too.

Besides this special event, I will be forging on with the basement clean-up. The OM cleaned off his workbench last weekend. Onward and upward.

Friday Movie Pick: Last night TCM featured movies starring Rod Taylor who died earlier this month.

rod-taylor-the-birds

They showed The Time Machine (1960), The Birds (1963), The Glass-Bottomed Boat (1966) with Doris Day, and a few other movies of his. My favorite Rod Taylor movie is, of course, the original 101 Dalmations (1961).

220px-One_Hundred_and_One_Dalmatians_movie_poster

Rod Taylor was the voice of Pongo! I loved that movie! My friends and I in kindergarten “played” it during recess for a long time.  Everyone wanted to be Pongo. I would watch it tonight, but I only have a VHS copy!

Oh well. I have a solution. Rod, who was good friends with John Wayne, made one movie with him: The Train Robbers (1973).

Rod is the one in the red kerchief.

Rod is the one in the red kerchief.

It isn’t a particularly great movie, but it works for me! (And, yes, I have it.)

Have a great weekend, y’all!