Here in this little bay

by chuckofish

Taking a cue from my dual personality, I spent some time yesterday sorting through papers, photos, and children’s art. Like her, I found some doozies, some of which I will share later (I give you fair warning, boys and girls). One of the things I found was this poem that son #2 wrote in 5th or 6th grade and which got published in our local paper:

Chris clementine poem 001

I’m not sure what prompted his style, but we all liked it a lot. Anyway, this put me in mind of a couples weeks we spent in New Brunswick on the Bay of Fundy when Chris was roughly the same age as when he wrote the poem. The Bay of Fundy is famous for its dramatic tides. This is the view upriver from our cottage at high tide

looking up river at high tide

and the same again at low tide

NB low tide2

Sometimes the fog rolled in and covered everything in mystery.

NB foggy day

That didn’t stop the boys, though. They became intrepid explorers. As I recall, they found Atlantis.

NB the boys on atlantis

And, of course, they got cold (really cold) and  wet.

NB ice cold water

We loved it there and vowed to go back again as soon as we could.

NB Tim and mom2Alas, life swept us along to other destinations and we never did go back. Maybe some day…

In the meantime, I leave you with a thought from Coventry Patmore,

Here, in this little Bay,
Full of tumultuous life and great repose,

Where, twice a day,
The purposeless, glad ocean comes and goes.
As my dual personality has shown with characteristic wit and charm, it’s good to take time to remember and reflect on past adventures (I’m saving the wit and charm for a future post, so tune in next week). [Please note: I’m not sure why the font got small all of a sudden, but I can’t seem to change it]