Woke up this morning feelin’ fine*

by chuckofish

Do you remember Mary Quant?

Mary Quant

She was born on this day in 1934 in London, the daughter of Welsh teachers, and became a famous fashion designer and British icon. She is credited with inventing the miniskirt (named after her favorite car–ahem) and as such was an instrumental figure in the 1960s London-based “Mod” and youth fashion movements.

Twiggy in a Quant design, 1966

Twiggy in a Quant design, 1966

Quant was also responsible for hot pants, the Lolita look, the slip dress, PVC raincoats, smoky eyes and sleek bob haircuts, but it was make-up that eventually made her company the most money.

I remember those days. My dual personality loved Twiggy and collected pictures of her. (She was in the second grade.) We thought it was all pretty cool: Carnaby Street,

1960's Carnaby Street (5)

Jean Shrimpton,

shrimpton-crop

The Man From U.N.C.L.E.,

uncle

the Rolling Stones,

the Rolling Stones  on Ready, Steady, Go! in 1965

Herman’s Hermits!

Herman's_Hermits_1968_US_television_concert_special

Living in flyover country, the hip new fashions were slow in catching on, but eventually skirts got shorter, hair got longer and girls started wearing Yardley make-up.

yardley

lips

I still have some of these iconic tubes somewhere!

Needless to say, We were oblivious to the darker elements of the mid-sixties. I think we thought, if it’s British, how bad can it be?

Anyone in the mood for Austin Powers?

114

Yeah, baby–me neither. And happy birthday to Mary Quant!

*Woke up this morning feelin’ fine/There’s something special on my mind/Last night I met a new girl in the neighborhood, whoa yeah/Something tells me I’m into something good (Herman’s Hermits, 1965)