Day-star in my heart appear*

by chuckofish

How was your weekend?

Mine was very pleasant. I received three of my favorite magazines in the mail on Saturday.

2015-02-15 15.05.53

So when I took breaks from my office clean-up, I could read them. I also have two new books to read.

2015-02-15 15.06.38

My dual personality found the Jacques Perret book (which I had mentioned in a blogpost a couple of weeks ago) online and ordered it for me. Wasn’t that sweet? I can’t wait to read it, except I am waiting until I’ve finished Anne Tyler’s newest book which was released last Tuesday. I am enjoying it first.

Happiness is a pile of books waiting to be read.

At church I was reminded that Lent starts this Wednesday.

2015-02-15 16.13.55

Many lenten pamphlets were available, so I took them all. The “Saintly Scorecard” is for hip Episcopalians who “learn from those who came before us as faithful witnesses to the gospel” while having fun just like the ungodly who bet on basketball during “March Madness.” You pick a bracket and all that jazz. No thanks. (I do not make this stuff up.)

Well, I guess I will have to get in gear for Lent. My life is pretty spartan as it is, so Lent is really just a change of focus for my movie-watching. And I’ll go to church on Tuesday night for pancakes. However. I draw the line at giving up wine or candy in the name of religious fervor.

Let’s just call a diet a diet, shall we? Such as the Diet of Worms…

diet of worms

We couldn’t let Playmobil have all the fun could we?

*Hymn #7 (Charles Wesley)