Silent, and soft, and slow Descends the snow*

by chuckofish

We had a “snow-event”–not like the ones back East–but enough for me to call a snow-day and not go into work. The way the TV meteorologists carry on these days, you would think every time it snowed it was snow-mageddon. Which of course it is not.

e8dee4557aa29e8b5230e2738056fcd8

Anyway, I stayed home and continued to lug boxes of stuff up and down stairs and to read my Anne Tyler book. I have always felt akin to Anne Tyler. We are interested in the same things: “I am fascinated by how families work, endurance, how do we get through life?” (You can read a good interview with her here.) This new book makes me laugh out loud and sometimes the tears come. Yes, the characters are familiar–at least that’s what her critics say–but so what. People are familiar.

Meanwhile, there is nothing I like better than to sit and look out my window on a snowy day.

2015-02-16 17.17.23The sky looks like a watercolor painting.

2015-02-16 17.17.31

2015-02-16 17.17.37

It was a good day.

Today, it is back to work for me and very low temperatures. Keep warm and have a great Tuesday!

*“Snow-flakes” by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow