“It is spring again. The earth is like a child that knows poems by heart.”*

by chuckofish

buds

Yes, those are daffodil shoots–right on schedule. Last weekend church services were canceled all over the area and this weekend we enjoyed 60-degree days! The flora and fauna responds accordingly. Pretty amazing.

I had a busy week so I took it kind of easy on the weekend. I finished some books that I had been reading and I read up on ol’ Charles Darwin, about whom I knew not a lot. He was an interesting fellow. I understand natural selection. It is logical. But it doesn’t explain why there are elephants. Seriously, there must be a God.

IMGP1204

I had lunch with my girlfriends. I went to Ted Drewes with the OM.

ted drewes

I watched the first chapter of that great old mini-series Shogun (1980) starring my cousin Richard as John Blackthorne.

MV5BMTY1ODI4NzYxMl5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwNDA4MzUxMQ@@._V1_SY317_CR4,0,214,317_AL_

The Jesuits are the bad guys and Toshiro Mifune is in the cast as Lord Toranaga.

Shogun-_Blu-ray_-532

What’s not to like? I will be watching the rest of it as the discs arrive from Netflix.

The boy and daughter #3 came over for Sunday night dinner. We barbequed!

Cute as ever

Cute as ever

Today daughter #2 takes her oral exams at the U. of Maryland. They were postponed from Friday because of the snow! Aaaargh. She has been handling the stress like the trouper that she is. Hopefully we will have good new for you tomorrow…

Have a great week!

*Rainer Maria Rilke