Way Back Wednesday

by chuckofish

Today is Johnny Appleseed Day! John Chapman was a real person,

Harper's Weekly 1871

Harper’s Weekly 1871

who became a legend through his travels as a pioneer nurseryman and missionary for the Swedenborgian Church.

disney-appleseed

Among other things, he is remembered for singing the Swedenborgian hymn: “Oooooh, the Lord is good to me, and so I thank the Lord, for giving me the things I need, the sun and the rain and the appleseed. The Lord is good to me. Amen.”

When I was a Sunday School teacher back in the day, we sang this as a grace before our snack. We sang it a lot at home as well, because it is pretty catchy.

I made this counted cross stitch sampler for  my son when he was little and he has it hanging in his house.

il_570xN.559160138_1nln

And do you remember this? I bet you do.

So let’s raise a cup of apple juice to ol’ Johnny Appleseed tonight! Or maybe a glass of this.

Boones Farm Apple Blossom

 

Do they still make this stuff?

I guess they do.