“The sword is the soul. Study the soul to know the sword. Evil mind, evil sword.”*

by chuckofish

Today is the birthday of the great Japanese actor Toshiro Mifune (April 1, 1920 – December 24, 1997).

O_0339_N007.tif

You might recall that I have blogged about him before. But some things bear repeating.

As you know, I have been watching Shogun (1980) in 4-part increments. Part Four is in the mail! Toshiro Mifune definitely steals the show.

1300126705_5

Of Toshiro Mifune, Akira Kurosawa said, “I am proud of nothing I have done other than with him.”

Well, I guess so.

Why is there not a National Holiday in Japan honoring him? Today should be Toshiro Mifune Day. Well, it is my personal Toshiro Mifune Day. Sake, anyone?

P.S. My brother had a Datsun back in the day that he named Toshiro.

*The Sword of Doom (1966)