This and that

by chuckofish

Well, it’s Good Friday.

Almighty God, we pray you graciously to behold this your family, for whom our Lord Jesus Christ was willing to be betrayed, and given into the hands of sinners, and to suffer death upon the cross; who now lives and reigns with you and the Holy Spirit, one God, for ever and ever. Amen. (Collect for Good Friday, BCP)

My Holy Week has been less than focused. It has been busy, busy at work, and I’m afraid I’m not the multi-tasker I once was–the result being that I am exhausted in the evening. I fell asleep during everything I attempted to watch this week, from Shogun (1980) to Peter and Paul (1981).

Last night I participated in the “Could you not keep watch with me for one hour?” vigil, as I always do.

Agony_in_the_Garden

In past years I have been late signing up so I always get stuck in the 4-5:00 a.m. or 5-6:00 a.m. slot., but this year I had the 9-10:00 p.m. slot which was a piece of cake in comparison. Which isn’t exactly the point–it being easy–but I was grateful anyway.

Tonight, of course, I will start Ben Hur (1959).

ben-hur

Last year daughter #1 was home and we watched the whole thing at one sitting, but I think I will watch until the chariot race and finish up on Holy Saturday.

benhurhighestnoms

What’s the rush?

benhur

And don’t forget: Wolf Hall starts on Sunday night on Masterpiece Theatre! Mark Rylance looks right for the Thomas Cromwell part anyway.

mark-rylance-wolf-hall

In past film renditions he has always been played as an evil, and therefore porcine, politician.

Leo McKern in 'A Man For All Seasons' (1966)

Leo McKern in ‘A Man For All Seasons’ (1966)

Please. I am hoping for the best. We shall see.

Also, tomorrow is our pater’s birthday. He would have been 93!

ancIII 2

Love this pose!

A toast would be appropriate and perhaps some bagpipe tunes.

And FYI there will be a lunar eclipse on April 4th!

Have a wonderful Easter! Hopefully the OM will accompany me to church on one of his two annual visits. Then we’ll meet the boy and daughter #3 at my flyover university’s faculty club for brunch. No cooking for me.