This and that

by chuckofish

TGIF. Boy, am I ready for the weekend! I plan to take it easy. How about you?

In the meantime here are a few end-of-the-week odds and ends.

1. I really want this house. I may have to buy my first lottery ticket.

2. The Ford Mustang was introduced to the public on this day (April 17) in 1964. It was named after the WWII P-51 Mustang fighter plane.

FordMillennium

1964_Ford_Mustang_Convertible_04

What a great car!

3. It is Thornton Wilder’s birthday today. I think I’ll eat some ice cream in his honor, because you know–“My advice to you is not to inquire why or whither, but just enjoy your ice cream while it is on your plate.”

4. It is also William Holden’s birthday.

holdenpic

He was born in O’Fallon, Illinois–just over the river from here–in 1918. So I suggest we watch one of his movies in his honor. When I think about it, I realize that he really is one of my favorites, although I seldom give him credit for being so. He was also one of those men who kind of just got better with age. Unfortunately, he was also a terrible alcoholic and died ignominiously. But you know, he had a younger brother, Robert W. “Bobbie” Beedle, who was a U.S. Navy fighter pilot and was killed in action in 1944–maybe that had something to do with it.

Anyway, there are obviously lots of good William Holden movies to choose from. My favorites are: Born Yesterday (1950), Sabrina (1954), The Horse Soldiers (1959), and Paris When It Sizzles (1964)–but there are lots of other good ones. I’ll leave that up to you.

paris-when-it-sizzles-holden-hepburn-kiss

5. Going to Athens, GA? You won’t want to miss this!

Have a great weekend!