Weekend adventures

by chuckofish

On Saturday my girlfriends took me on a belated birthday adventure to the Shaw Nature Reserve in Grey Summit, which is part of the Missouri Botanical Garden. We walked around the Whitmire Wildflower Garden.

IMGP1218

IMGP1219

IMGP1220

IMGP1221

IMGP1222

IMGP1223

IMGP1224

IMGP1225

IMGP1226

IMGP1227

IMGP1228

IMGP1229As you can see–absolutely beautiful!

From here we ventured to Washington, Missouri to have lunch at the Blue Duck Restaurant where we sat outside and enjoyed a lovely lunch and a view of the Missouri River.

To top off the day we stopped at–where else–an antique mall. Just perfect. Thanks, ladies!

Selfie

Old ladies attempting a selfie. Haha.

Inspired by our adventure, I worked in the yard on Sunday and planted some geraniums in pots. My mother always thought geraniums were a bit bourgeois, and perhaps they are. Nevertheless, I like them. Don’t you? They are so low-maintenance and generous.

I also went to the Annual St. Louis Fine Print, Rare Book & Paper Arts Fair, presented by the Mercantile Library up at UMSL on Friday evening. It was right up my alley. All the exhibitors had great stuff, but nothing that my budget could handle. I bought a few used books at the Mercantile Library table and was quite content.

And on Sunday the OM and I went to Ted Drewe’s. A good weekend. How was your’s?

Have a good Monday!