Mid-week musings: ““To be in hell is to drift; to be in heaven is to steer.”*

by chuckofish

IMGP1254

I am a big fan of the blog Apartment Therapy–every day they are a font of interesting information and nice pictures.  But really sometimes they feature the silliest lists and how-to’s! The latest: The Four Things Tidy People Do.

This is not rocket science, folks. To be tidy means “clean and organized : not messy”. Clear that counter! Empty the wastebasket! Pick your dirty clothes up off the floor and put them in the hamper! Do people really need to be told this?

Clearly they do.

This new book on the life-changing magic of tidying up is a huge best-seller. Even daughter #1 has read it and she is the coolest. As you know, I am all for de-cluttering my life. The thing is, you have to keep it up. That is the hard part, especially if you like lovely old, dusty things as much as I do.

But I am a great tidier. I tidy as I putter–which means “to busy or occupy oneself in a leisurely, casual, or ineffective manner.” I would argue that if you are tidying while you putter, you are not ineffective.

But then, maybe puttering is a generational thing. I doubt if young people nowadays know how to putter. I mean, how can you putter when you are constantly distracted from tidying by, for instance, your phone.

G+Joe+Rise+Cobra+Photocall+dy_gDR1sAHDl

So where was I going with this? To Channing Tatum? Well, this is how my mind works.

*George Bernard Shaw