“For so the LORD said unto me, I will take my rest, and I will consider in my dwelling place like a clear heat upon herbs, and like a cloud of dew in the heat of harvest.”*

by chuckofish

Finally Friday again. Yay. I have a few things of interest to note.

On June 10, 1915, the Astor Theater in Times Square presented the first documented public exhibition of three-dimensional motion pictures. In honor of the centennial of 3-D the Museum of Modern Art is celebrating “3-D Summer.”

moma460

For those of you in NYC, you can go to the MOMA this weekend to see Hondo (1953) on the big screen in all its 3-D glory. They’ll be showing it through July 4 on selected dates, so, hello, check your calendar! (The Duke’s daughter-in-law will be introducing the showing on Saturday.)

1647573_orig

The rest of us will have to be satisfied with watching it on our TVs. C’est la vie. I have blogged about Hondo before. It is well worth watching again.

I must note that Christopher Lee (1922–2015) has died at the age of 93. The 6’5″ actor served in the RAF during WWII and afterwards had a long and semi-distinguished career as a movie actor. I say semi because many of his movies from the 1950s on were horror films of the Dracula variety. I read through his entire list of his film credits and couldn’t come up with many to recommend (besides, of course, the LOTR trilogy which I cannot watch anymore).

However, he did play “Bernard Day” in Scott of the Antarctic (1948) which is a favorite of mine.

Scott_of_the_Antarctic_film_poster

That same year he played a “Spear Carrier” in Olivier’s Hamlet. Coincidentally, Peter Cushing also appeared in this Hamlet as scene-stealing “Osric”.

Poster - Hamlet (1948)_02

Well, you can watch a whole bunch of his movies on TCM on Monday if you are so inclined. You have to give him props for being a working actor all those years!

In other news, the new McDonnell Polar Bear Point opened recently at the St. Louis Zoo. We have been without polar bears at the zoo for several years and we have missed them.

Kali_V_LaCapra_IMG_1892

stlpublicradio.org photo

So now we have Kali, a two-and-a-half year old bear, who looks so cute…until…

Kali_A_OConnor_114

stlpublicradio.org photo

Yikes. I need to go check out this new (and very fancy) bear enclosure soon.

Have a good weekend and stay hydrated!

*Isaiah 18:4 (KJV)