“To feel at home, stay at home.”*

by chuckofish

I like Jamie Meares and have enjoyed her blog I Suwannee for years. I wish I could go to her store in Raleigh, don’t you? Anyway, I thought her blog post yesterday was just great.

She says, “the collections in your home should be the truest reflection of yourself.  they can be edited, and some may seem more relevant at times than others, but hold onto the little things that accumulate in life, and display them.”

IMGP1269

I totally agree. I mean, who wants to live in a hotel-room house?

ELLEDecor.com

ELLEDecor.com

Not I, that’s for sure.

But it’s not enough to have a bunch of junk in your house, which sometimes–let’s be honest–those “country” style homes and “shabby chic” places display.

imageCANA00WU

No, the things you have in your home should “mean” something to you.

IMGP1267

Too often, bloggers seem to think that a trip to HomeGoods will supply everything you need. Well, it will supply a quick fix and that’s all.

IMGP1278

Like with most things, collecting takes patience and time.

IMGP1274

And I’ve got time. And so does Jamie. It’s called Life.

*Clifton Fadiman