Guilty pleasures

by chuckofish

Okay, I admit it. I liked Paul Blart: Mall Cop (2009).

paul-blart-mall-cop-blu-ray-cover-15

And so when Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2 was released on DVD, I was first in line at Netflix.

paul-blart-mall-cop-2-blu-ray-cover-30

I guess I love a fat guy on a segway.

Yes, Kevin James is pretty darn funny as the nerdly guy who takes his unglamorous job super-seriously and works hard “to protect the people of the West Orange Pavilion Mall.” When he goes to a mall cop convention in Las Vegas, hilarity ensues.

And there is no bad language in this movie! Yes, you heard me right: No. Bad. Language. There is no bathroom humor. No sex. When was the last time you saw a comedy that didn’t rely on vulgarity for laughs? I didn’t think they still made PG-rated films!

Well, they do. And Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2 is funny.  I laughed out loud throughout the movie.

(I will say that the OM walked out of the room in disgust after 5 minutes, but what does he know?)

So it may be stupid and low-brow, but sometimes you just need a good laugh at the expense of a fat guy on a segway. My Friday movie pick is Paul Blart: Mall Cop 2! Check it out at your corner Red Box.