Loaves and fishes

by chuckofish

 

11722656_1001643106532585_4632851247580885284_o

I went to two memorial services in three days.

Mamu’s was a high requiem eucharist service for the repose of her soul with full choir and all the bells and whistles.

The other was for a work friend–a secular service with ten speakers extolling her impressive life. There was no religious element save the singing at the end of “Amazing Grace”, which seemed all the sadder for the evident lack of faith of the deceased. Twenty years of Catholic school sometimes has that effect.

We sang “Abide With Me” at Mamu’s service and that about undid me. What is it about hymns? Something about the familiar (sad) music and the words, I guess. It made me want to run home and watch Shane (1953)–I didn’t (but I did later on Sunday).

At church on Sunday we were reminded that it is that time of year again when we all collect money for the United Thank Offering in what we use to call our “mite” boxes.

IMGP1316

I brought one home and I intend to fill it up while counting my blessings.

It is a good spiritual practice to count your blessings. Are you in the habit of doing that?

Here are some wise words from Thomas a Kempis (c. 1380 – 25 July 1471), whose feast day was last Friday:

“As long as you live, you will be subject to change, whether you will it or not – now glad, now sorrowful; now pleased, now displeased; now devout, now undevout; now vigorous, now slothful; now gloomy, now merry. But a wise man who is well taught in spiritual labor stands unshaken in all such things, and heeds little what he feels, or from what side the wind of instability blows.”

Have a good Monday!