Note to self

by chuckofish

In America we have porcupines.

Porcupine

In Britain (and Europe) they have hedgehogs.

hedgehog-405726

Even though they share similar spiny protective “armour” they are unrelated.

But news flash: I gather that hedgehogs are endangered in England. The Hay Quaker blog had a link to this Hedgehog Rescue blog.

Hedgehog populations are in freefall! This is troubling indeed. I have always loved hedgehogs. They are my spirit animal.

So a toast and a prayer for the lowly hedgehog!

And hello, this is why you will never find me hiking in Yellowstone. This is seriously my greatest fear in Life.

Give me a hedgehog any day.

[She] has the elegance of the hedgehog: on the outside, she’s covered in quills, a real fortress, but my gut feeling is that on the inside, she has the same simple refinement as the hedgehog: a deceptively indolent little creature, fiercely solitary – and terribly elegant.
– Muriel Barbery (The Elegance of the Hedgehog)