Way-back Wednesday musings

by chuckofish

katie pool

Polaroid picture taken at summer camp c. 1963

I loved day-camp. Except for some bullying by the swimming teacher, I had a good time. It was kind of a continuation of day-school, but we did crafts and went swimming. I learned to ride a two-wheeler one summer all by myself.

I have fond memories of the counselors and of the young man who drove the bus. They were nice.

We were divided into Indian “tribes” and we had fringed vests made out of burlap bags and wore headbands and danced around a teepee. We were awarded felt patches which were stapled to our vests–guppies to sharks–every time we moved up a skill level. These were awarded at a PowWow at the end of each week. Awesome.

And I got to go home every afternoon and see my own mother and have dinner and watch TV. It was the best of both worlds for me.

Anyway…don’t forget to keep your eyes on the sky tonight! The annual Perseid meteor shower will be on display in the predawn hours until August 13. By the way, a meteor, you will recall, is a piece of stony, metallic or icy matter that enters Earth’s atmosphere and briefly streaks across the sky. A meteorite is a meteor that lands on the surface of the Earth or another celestial body.