Postcards from New York: I whistle a happy tune edition

by chuckofish

I had a lovely, fun-filled time visiting with daughter #1 in her tiny UWS third-floor studio apartment. Basically we were only there to sleep and grab an occasional Diet Coke. Oh, yes, we did shower and change, but in typical fashion I had done a miserable job packing, so my clothing options were limited. Daughter #1 always looked impeccable.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.16.45 PM

We were on the go from the time I dropped my bags there (after getting up at 3:30 a.m. to catch the 5:55 to LaGuardia) until I hopped in an Uber to head back to the airport.

It was rainy when I arrived, so we headed over to the Met to see the John Singer Sargent exhibit.

Sargent_DIGITAL_Hero

It was a terrific show with lots of great portraits. I liked the Edwin Booth portrait, but, of course, they didn’t have a postcard. They always pick the weirdest things for postcards, have you noticed? C’est la vie.

sargent.booth_1-372x500

We also checked some of our favorites in the American Wing.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.14.14 PM

We went to Lincoln Center to see The King and I which was fabulous,

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.16.32 PM

although the King was not Yul Brynner. His ghost is always there, arms akimbo.

yul-300x0

We walked ALL OVER Central Park, but I did not have my phone with me (!) so I didn’t take any pictures of my favorite schist. We  took the uptown bus to see the Cathedral of St. John the Divine, which I have always wanted to do.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.16.16 PM

It was a divine space but rather godless. Not that I was really surprised, but oh well. I liked the poets’ corner with all my favorites.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.14.35 PM

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 3.10.30 PM

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 3.10.12 PM

We also took the subway all the way up to 190th to go to the Cloisters, another place on my bucket list.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.15.10 PM

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.15.25 PM

It was very cool. (I bought a book about how it all came to be and read it on the plane ride home. Thank you, John D. Rockefeller, Jr.) Afterwards we rode the subway back down and conked out. Then we got up and made ready for our evening out with some of daughter #1’s college (and one highschool) friends.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 2.16.03 PM

Oh my–super fun!

By the time Sunday rolled around I was incapable of leaving the UWS and we opted to stay put and meander around, ending up on a park bench in Riverside Park, watching the world rollerblade or bicycle (training wheels optional) or jog by.

Screen shot 2015-09-14 at 10.17.43 AM

While I was visiting we ate at a wide variety of wonderful restaurants and made one notable and tipsy stop at Zabar’s.

Now I am home and back at the salt mine. Last night I planted myself in front of Dancing With the Stars  in full recovery mode.