Running [a few] red lights on Memory Lane*

by chuckofish

It almost being Halloween, I thought I’d share a picture of the costume that epitomized the zenith of our mother’s costume-making endeavors.

56 halloween

In 1956 she made a Donald Duck costume for our older brother without a pattern and without all the add-ons that are readily available today. I think she even made the hat/mask. She poured all of her not negligible creative powers and seamstress-y talent into it. It was not easy to do and she was very proud of it.

I hope our brother was proud to wear it. Does he look proud? Somehow I think he would have preferred to have been armed and dangerous and Davey Crockett.

I hope our mother received lots of high-fives. Doubtful. This was mid-century California after all where I’m sure those newfangled rayon-taffeta store-bought costumes were all the rage.

haloween582

A few years later she made a pretty awesome black cat costume for my brother and a clown costume for  me.

scan-21

58 halloween

But after that, she was done (except for a witch costume which we used for-ever after.)

Well, Sic transit gloria mundi…

On another note–happy birthday and a toast to Dan Castellaneta, who has voiced the character of Homer Simpson on The Simpsons for 28 seasons. Zut alors. Or should I say:

Best-funny-quotes-by-Homer-Simpson-211x300

“Everyone knows rock n’ roll attained perfection in 1974; It’s a scientific fact.”

–Homer, aka the OM

*Dire Straights, Telegraph Road