“This gentleman has been standing alone against the world!”*

by chuckofish

Last week son number 3 made his acting debut as juror number 9 in “12 Angry Men” (hey! 9 + 3 = 12 Is that significant?). His brother described juror number 9 to his mom, who has not read the play or seen the movie, as “the wise and observant, elderly one.” So here’s a pic of my very own wise, observant and elderly son:

Tim as juror number 9

I gather they colored his hair and beard to make him look older. It’s funny, but with light hair he looks a lot like brother #2. I can’t imagine how he managed to fit a play in with all the other things he does. He is so much better organized than I am!

By contrast, I have no turkey or Thanksgiving decorations yet.  Still, I’m very excited that two of my boys are coming home for a few days and I will make every effort to feed them plenty of holiday appropriate food. I like Thanksgiving. It’s not a big deal in our house, but it’s not the dreaded family get together of lore. What can I say? We like each other.  But if you need something to liven a boring Thanksgiving up, maybe this poem by Alfred Noyes will give you some ideas:

Everyone grumbled. The sky was grey.
We had nothing to do and nothing to say.
We were nearing the end of a dismal day,
And there seemed to be nothing beyond,
THEN
Daddy fell into the pond!

And everyone’s face grew merry and bright,
And Timothy danced for sheer delight.
‘Give me the camera, quick, oh quick!
He’s crawling out of the duckweed.’
Click!

Then the gardener suddenly slapped his knee,
And doubled up, shaking silently,
And the ducks all quacked as if they were daft
And is sounded as if the old drake laughed.

O, there wasn’t a thing that didn’t respond
WHEN
Daddy fell into the pond!

 

Have a Happy Thanksgiving, with or without aquatic high-jinks!

*”12 Angry Men”