“My, how foolish I am!”

by chuckofish

“You know what I’ve always thought? I’ve always thought a body would have to be sick and dying before they saw the Lord. And I imagined that when He came it would be like looking at the Baptist window: pretty as colored glass with the sun pouring through, such a shine you don’t know it’s getting dark.

Tiffany window 1st Baptist Church, Selma, Alabama

Tiffany window 1st Baptist Church, Selma, Alabama

And it’s been a comfort: to think of that shine taking away all the spooky feeling. But I’ll wager it never happens. I’ll wager at the very end a body realizes the Lord has already shown Himself. That things as they are, just what they’ve always seen, was seeing Him.

IMG_0414

As for me, I could leave the world with today in my eyes.” (Truman Capote, “A Christmas Memory”)

You can watch the whole, Emmy-award-winning TV version here, although the quality isn’t very good.

I remember watching it way back when, and being deeply affected. It’s just the thing to remind us that Christmas doesn’t require a lot of bells, whistles, and fancy presents. All I really want is for my boys to come home safely and fill the house with their irrepressible presence (talk, laughter, music, movies, Nerf battles, Lego creations, computer games, culinary endeavors, and endless mugs of tea). Later today the first traveler will arrive home, and tomorrow, if he isn’t too jet-lagged, we will decorate our tree.

Joyeux Noell indeed!