“It’s alright, Ma”*

by chuckofish

IMG_1585

Well, the holidays are officially over.

It was a busy long weekend. First I took down the little tree.

IMG_1605

Then the mantle.

IMG_1608

IMG_1609

IMG_1610

Then I moved on to the big tree.

IMG_1612

IMG_1618

Soon all that was left was a pile of pine needles, some of which will still be around next year when we put up the next tree.

IMG_1615

In between we celebrated the New Year with friends and had the boy and daughter #3 over for dinner on New Year’s Day. We watched 3 Godfathers (1947), my favorite movie about the three wisemen, with them.

tumblr_nz49vq0Zfh1s3mivlo1_540

I also watched Bridge of Spies (2015)–pretty average–and A Walk In the Woods (2015)–pretty disappointing.  I was hoping it would cheer me up, but considering it is based on a book by Bill Bryson, it was remarkably devoid of humor. Furthermore, Robert Redford is way too old and tired looking to play Bill Bryson, who wrote the book when he was 47. Redford is 79 and, despite what he may think, he looks it. His boyishly cut, dyed red hair looks ridiculous. Nick Nolte looks every one of his 74 years and more. Indeed, he appears to be at death’s door and like he wouldn’t make it 100 yards on the Appalachian Trail in real life. Cleary their backpacks were filled with bubble wrap.

dt.common.streams.StreamServer

There was a lot of great scenery, which I appreciated, and the music featured songs by the band Lord Huron. (My dual personality gave me one of their CDs for Christmas and I had coincidentally been listening to it a lot over the weekend during my clean up efforts. BTW the CD is really good.) But, boy, it could have been so much better if it had been cast differently.

Anyway, I am now ready to face the new year at work today. The holidays were great fun, and I will miss my girls. But it’s alright, Ma, it’s life, and life only.

*Bob Dylan. (Yes, I would have spelled it “all right”…)