“She sang as requested.

by chuckofish

There was much about love in the ballad: faithful love that refused to abandon its object; love that disaster could not shake; love that, in calamity, waxed fonder, in poverty clung closer.” (Charlotte Bronte, Shirley)

That quote reminds me of my great, great grandmother, Mary Webster Low Sargent (1829-1914), who had a harder life than her nice house in Worcester Massachusetts might lead one to believe. Through it all, Mary remained quietly faithful to her family.

My great, great grandmother, blurry and with reflections

My great, great grandmother (I think), blurry and with reflections

I recently found her will, which says a lot about her. I had to copy it in three parts, so please excuse the awkward photos.

Mary wester lowe will page 1 (2)Mary Lowe will (2)Mary Lowe will (3)Don’t you think it’s wonderful that she made a bequest to take care of the graves of her mother, father, and grandfather? Her son, our great grandfather, William W. Sargent, does not get a mention because he had predeceased her by about four years (but that’s a post for another time). I didn’t know about the other son, John, or the nieces, so that’s something to look into. I also found a photo of her grave at the Church Street Cemetery in Merrimac, Massachusetts:

sargent headstone

Edward and Joseph, who died as children, were news to me! Poor woman had four sons and one daughter and outlived at least three of her children.

Have a good weekend, look into some family history, and be of good cheer, for Spring is coming!