“What language shall I borrow to thank thee, dearest friend…*

by chuckofish

…for this thy dying sorrow, thy pity without end?”

palm-sunday-1

And so we enter Holy Week. We started it off with a bang on Sunday with a snow storm in the early hours of the morning (it looked liked soap flakes in a bad movie!)

Screen Shot 2016-03-20 at 2.06.34 PM

(This photo does not quite do justice to the enormous fluffy snowflakes that were, indeed, falling.)

and with a two-hour Palm Sunday service, complete with Passion reading by the lay reader A team. I was the narrator and I felt very blessed to do it. My friend Chris was Jesus, and as his wife said during the passing of the peace, “It’s going to go to his head.” I will try to remain humble.

The snow was all gone by the time I went home after church. This is par for the course in flyover country, where every year the magnolias and the pear trees burst forth and then turn brown when the temperature drops.

Kirkwood is Blooming

I, of course, had just moved all my plants out to the Florida room–hopefully they will survive this cold snap, because I am not moving them back!

I did a lot of work in the house (including the aforementioned Florida room overhaul) in preparation for some work that is being done today. Also the boy and daughter #3 came over for dinner on Sunday night and then I watched The Robe (1953).

maxresdefault

Marcellus and Demetrius in ancient Rome

This launched my plan to watch religious movies intently this week leading up to my yearly viewing of Ben Hur (1959) on Good Friday. I have been very slack in regards to appropriate movie watching this Lent, so I have a lot of catching up to do.

Mea culpa.

Have a good Monday. Mine will be very busy as will my week.

(The OM took the photo of the pear trees in bloom.)

*O sacred head now wounded, Herzlich tut michverlangen