What are you reading?

by chuckofish

reading

Having finished my second Jussi Adler-Olsen detective novel, I looked around my shelves for something to read. I settled on The Nautical Chart (La carta esférica) by Spanish author Arturo Pérez-Reverte. He is best known for his El capitán Alatriste books. I have read The Adventures of Captain Alatriste about a Spanish soldier of fortune in the 17th century, and enjoyed it very much, so I thought I’d try this other book which I had picked up at an estate sale.

51KrTavkOUL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Coy is a sailor without a ship. Tánger Soto is a woman with an obsession to find the Dei Gloria, a ship sunk during the seventeenth century, and El Piloto is an old man with the sailboat on which all three set out to seek their fortune together. Or do they? (Amazon.com)

Chapter one begins with a quote from Moby Dick (“I have swum through oceans and sailed through libraries.”) so I knew I was on to something good. In short order the author invokes literary references ranging from Lord Jim to Tintin.

“I saved every cent so I could go to the bookstore and come out with one of these [a Tintin book] in my hands, holding my breath, loving the feel of the hard covers, the colors of the splendid illustrations. And then, all by myself, I would open the pages and smell the paper and the ink before I dived into the story. So I collected all twenty-three, one by one. A lot of time has gone by since then, but to this day, when I open a Tintin I can smell the smell that I have associated with adventure and life ever since. Along with the movies of John Ford and John Huston, Richmal Compton’s [Crompton] Adventures of William, and a few other books, these shaped my childhood.”

Well. A fictional character after my own heart!

I have to admit that I only know about Tintin because the boy was a big fan growing up.

Tintin_with_a_rifle

And I am not acquainted with these Adventures of William books. Apparently they were very popular in England.

n50690

This just goes to show, there is always so much more out there to read!

Anyway, I am really enjoying The Nautical Chart. I’ll let you know how it goes. What are you reading?

P.S. My spy in Jupiter sent me this picture of the Cardinal dugout. The Skipper is on the bench on the left.Screen Shot 2016-03-23 at 2.31.42 PM