“Speak, thou vast and venerable head”*

by chuckofish

I wrote myself a note last week about April 5th being Gregory Peck’s 100th birthday–blogpost idea!–but, of course, I got sidetracked. Anyway, April 6th is as good a day as any to toast the divine GP.

Peck_1081_272411-560x706

I mean really, he was just the best. Not only was he one of the handsomest actors of all time, he had one of the all-time great voices.

He was in some of my favorite movies: Twelve O’Clock High (1949) and To Kill a Mockingbird (1962) and How the West Was Won (1962) foremost among them. And he was also great in Roman Holiday (1953), On the Beach (1959), The Big Country (1958), and as Ahab in Moby Dick (1956). He made some pretty bad movies watchable, such as Captain Newman, M.D. (1963) and Duel in the Sun (1946).

He was on the UC Berkeley crew team in 1936-38. Again awesome.

I DVR’d On the Beach yesterday, so I am going to watch it.

beach

So a toast to Gregory Peck (April 5, 1916 – June 12, 2003). Why not treat yourself to one of the above films? You deserve it.

And as this is Wednesday and time for a mid-week pep talk, I leave you with this:

“We who lived in concentration camps can remember the men who walked through the huts comforting others, giving away their last piece of bread. They may have been few in number, but they offer sufficient proof that everything can be taken from a man but one thing: the last of the human freedoms — to choose one’s attitude in any given set of circumstances, to choose one’s own way.”

–Viktor E. Frankl, Man’s Search for Meaning

*Ahab in Moby Dick