Time out for some art

by chuckofish

Today is the anniversary of the death of the great artist Pablo Picasso (October 25, 1881 – April 8, 1973) who was baptized Pablo Diego José Francisco de Paula Juan Nepomuceno María de los Remedios Cipriano de la Santísima Trinidad Ruiz y Picasso, a series of names honoring various saints and relatives. Wow.

I  admit I had a poster of his Don Quixote in my college dorm room.

Donquixote

I  know what I like, and I liked it. And I always liked this sculpture that he donated to the city of Chicago in 1967.

90429a8fPicasso was very prolific and several of his paintings rank among the most expensive paintings in the world. In US currency, Garçon à la pipe sold for $104 million in 2004; Dora Maar au Chat sold for $95.2 million in 2006;

dora-maar-au-chat

Nude, Green Leaves and Bust was sold at $106.5 million in 2010.

Nude_Green_Leaves_and_Bust_by_Picasso

And fun fact: more of Picasso’s paintings have been stolen than those of any other artist.

Here’s a picture of the living room of his Cannes villa.

pablo-picasso-battle-empire-art-11 (Vanity Fair)

Vanity Fair

Homey, don’t you think? Full of stuff, which I like. Nothing in its “place.”

Well, as Groucho Marx once said, “Art is art, isn’t it? Still, on the other hand, water is water! And east is east and west is west and if you take cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now, uh… now you tell me what you know.”

Hey, it’s Friday! Have a good weekend!