Consider the lilies of the field

by chuckofish

How was your weekend? Mine was pretty busy–at least for me. I went to a few estate sales, but didn’t find anything of note. I went to a funeral and I went to a fundraiser that daughter #3 had organized with the student government of the high school where she teaches. It was a benefit for the Greater St. Louis Honor Flight which sends WWII veterans to Washington to see the WWII memorial there. The boy was a “guardian” on one of these trips a few years ago. Anyway, we enjoyed the event and the movie about how the charity was started.

IMG_1789

IMG_1791

Afterwards we went out for pizza and beer.

IMG_1792

When I got home I tried to watch Straw Dog (1949), the great Akira Kurosawa film about post-war Japan. A very young and handsome Toshiro Mifune plays a rookie detective who has lost his gun and is madly trying to find it. It is a great, great movie, but I fell asleep.

stray-dog-mifune

Mea culpa. It had been a long day.

I re-read Ellen Foster by Kaye Gibbons. It was her first book and very good indeed.

On Sunday I did a lot of cleaning in my house, throwing away copious amounts of detritus. This always makes me happy.

Now it is Monday. Daughter #1 starts her new job. She no longer works for The Man, but for a start-up digital network, working with creative types who have man-buns.  You go, girl!

P.S. Don’t forget in all the hubbub of your daily life to take a moment and enjoy the scenery.

Vintage illustration by Mary Blair

Vintage illustration by Mary Blair