“What is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.”*

by chuckofish

A couple of days ago on the Man Repeller blog they asked the important question: What’s your movie dress?

Good question, but their answers weren’t that exciting. I mean how can you make a list like that and not include something worn by Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast at Tiffany’s?

breakfast-at-tiffanys-pink-dress

audrey-hepburn-breakfast-tiffany-street-scene

I could not find a good picture of the dress/hat ensemble Holly wears to visit Sally Tomato…but really, has any woman ever looked better than Audrey in this scene?

In fact, they never mentioned ol’ Audrey at all. How is that possible?

Audrey was mentioned in the comments section and there were other good suggestions, including Glinda in the 1939 Wizard of Oz. Here are a few more…

As a child I was struck by the dress Jane Fonda wears in the scene in Cat Ballou (1965) when she is about to be executed for murder.51yEqsLuDOL._SX342_I loved that dress and it is the one I was thinking of when we chose the pattern for my “May Day” dress in 1974.

Harriet and Katie 1974

Clearly my friend Harriet was thinking the same thing.

Who can deny that there were many great dresses in the movie White Christmas (1954)–such as this classic number worn by Rosemary Clooney at the Carousel Club.

RC dress1

Great accessories too! Those gloves! The bottom of the dress was great too–it belled out to great effect…

Here’s another great dress worn by Rosemary in the Minstrel Show number–love those red bangles!

white_christmas_rosemary_clooney_bing_crosby_and_danny_kaye

This more conservative green velvet cocktail dress is pretty great too. And I am loving that couch as well.

White-Christmas-Rosemary-Clooney-green-dress

And who wouldn’t want to pull this dress out of the closet for a night on the town?

white-christmas-vera-ellen-rosemary-clooney-1954

I know I have always wished I could. As you can see, the older I get, the more I relate to Rosemary rather than Vera-Ellen!

So…what’s your movie dress?

*Yves Saint-Laurent

GIF found here.