Dearest Mother dearest

by chuckofish

interior-comedor-kandinsky

So the OM asked me on Saturday if I wanted a fancy coffee cake or what on Mother’s Day and I said what I really would like is a donut. So he said he would go to Dunkin’ Donuts on Sunday morning. What kind of donut did I want? I said I would like a plain cake donut or a cake donut with chocolate frosting.

So on Sunday morning he duly left the house at 7 a.m. to go to Dunkin’ Donuts. He came back with half a dozen donuts: 2 blueberry, 2 glazed and 2 chocolate cake donuts with frosting.

What? When I questioned him about his selection, he said, “Well, that’s what they had.”

Sigh.

Anyway, I went to church where we were celebrating our confirmation class kids who were confirmed two weeks ago down at the Cathedral. It was a nice service and afterwards there was a reception and cake. I gave my mentee one of my favorite Frederick Buechner books and to my surprise, she gave me a present:

IMG_1843

A birdhouse that looks like a church! I was very touched. I’m sure Brigid and I will be lifelong friends.

The boy and daughter #3 came over for dinner. We bar-b-qued turkey burgers and drank leftover beer from my birthday party.

Screen Shot 2016-05-08 at 1.15.38 PM

Good times and a happy Mother’s Day.

(The painting is by Wassily Kandinsky, 1909)